Burtonwood 5 Mile - directions

View race venue & route in Google Maps

View race venue & route in Google Maps

Race Venue

Burtonwood Community Centre
Off Chapel Lane

Note change of venue from previous years.

Burtonwood 5 Mile Road Race route

The race started and finished at the Burtonwood Bridge Inn (the pub no longer exists) and the race route was on roads in & around the area of Burtonwood.

It consisted of the first lap of about 2¼ miles which came back past the Bridge Inn, followed by a second lap of about 2¾ miles.  Both laps were anti-clockwise.

From the start with the Bridge Inn on your left, the route turns left after about 100 yards into Chapel Lane, which at about ½ mile becomes Fir Tree Lane, then Lumber Lane.  Continue until about 1½ miles and turn left into Forshaw's Lane, then left at about 1¾ miles into Broad Lane.  Carry on as the road becomes Phipps Lane to pass the Bridge Inn on your left and start the second lap.

Follow the same route until you get to Forshaw's Lane at about 3½ miles.  Do not turn left but carry straight on into Collins Green Lane.  At just over 4 miles, turn left into Penny Lane, then at about 4¼ miles turn left into Broad Lane.  Continue along the road to re-join the route of the first lap, as the road becomes Phipps Lane and returns to the finish at the Bridge Inn.

Burtonwood 5 Mile Road Race route


The runbritain web site is run by UK Athletics.  Site has lots of info on road training and racing.

Course records

Male:  25:12 (2009)
Daniel Cliffe (Warrington AC)

  29:39 (2012)
Louise Blizzard (Belgrave Harriers)

Race results

2013 Race results
2012 Race results
2011 Race results
2010 Race results
2009 Race results
2008 Race results
2007 Race results
2006 Race results
2005 Race results

Burtonwood 5 Mile - past winners & race statistics

 Year Male winner Club Time Female winner Club Time Finishers Last finisher
 2013 Matthew Smith
 South Cheshire Harriers
 26:54 Diane McVey
 Wilmslow RC
 30:01 234 59:07
 2012 Daniel Bradford
 Shettleston Harriers 25:50 Louise Blizzard
 Belgrave Harriers
 29:38 146
 2011 Daniel Cliffe Liverpool Harriers 25:32 Liz Whitfield Spectrum Striders RC 30:25 107 54:50
 2010 John Ashcroft St Helens Sutton AC 26:52 Nabilah Salihi Spectrum Striders RC 31:19 117 49:51
 2009 Daniel Cliffe Warrington AC 25:12 Nicola Bird Ellesmere Port RC 30:14 145 58:34
 *2008 Paul Sankey Liverpool RC *24:15 Jayne Taylor Wigan Phoenix RC
 *29:01 134 49:20
 2007 Mike Hatch Sale Harriers Manchester 27:01 Sue Hool Hoad Hill Harriers 31:40 120 59:34
 2006 Gerry Healy unattached 25:40 Debra Jones Wigan Phoenix RC
 31:14 70 54:19
 2005 Nick Jones Salford Harriers & AC 25:15 Alison Hartopp Macclesfield Harriers AC
 31:21 54 76:46

* The runners followed a short course in 2008, approx. 4.6 miles.

Course record holders are shown in italics.

Team winners 

 Year Male team Female team
 2013 South Cheshire Harriers
 Wilmslow RC
 2012 Spectrum Striders RC Spectrum Striders RC
 2011 St Helens Sutton AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2010 Warrington AC Spectrum Striders RC
 2009 Spectrum Striders RC Spectrum Striders RC
 2008 Spectrum Striders RC Spectrum Striders RC
 2007 Ellesmere Port RC (no teams)
 2006 Salford Harriers & AC
 Spectrum Striders RC
 2005 Spectrum Striders RC (no teams)